On being driven crazy by a song…

Last evening I found myself wandering around a department store, and heard a song playing that I recognized as one of those mid-60’s hits that I hadn’t heard in years. It was not the original version, however, but a fairly nice cover with a little bit of Cher-like voice synthing. I pointed it out to my son, who really didn’t care, but the great thing about having a son is that you can make him listen to your childhood memories, whether he likes them or not.

But, I didn’t know the name of the song, and didn’t know who the original artist was. All I could recall is that I thought one of the lines was “It would be so nice.” This, however, got confused in my mind with the Beach Boys’ “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” which I had just been listening to that afternoon (I was in a 60’s pop mood, what can I say…).

I thought the band may have been the Turtles, but more than likely was not. I searched the Turtles greatest hits, and didn’t find anything close. I Googled a few different versions of my snippet of lyrics, to no avail, either.

It was driving my crazy. I woke up this morning with the song playing in my head… I could hear the melody, the harmonies, everything but the lyrics. I could even hear the original vocalist, I just couldn’t place him.

I was still driving me crazy.

Tonite, I went grocery shopping with my wife. On the way home, I was telling her about the song, and how it was driving me nuts. The, for who knows what reason, I thought, “Perhaps it was the Lovin’ Spoonful.” Now, I was never a bit Lovin’ Spoonful fan. I did at one time own one of their albums, that I had bought for 47 cents, or something like that, but couldn’t tell you which one now.

So, when I got home, I Googled “Lovin’ Spoonful greatest hits” and sure enough, the 2nd song on their greatest hits album was “You Didn’t Have To Be So Nice.”

Am I good, or what?

It was never a favorite song of mine, but now that it’s driven me crazy, I think it has become one.  The lyrics are fairly cute, and a little bizarre, in a way – kind of like something the Turtles would have done:

You didn’t have to be so nice
I would have liked you anyway
If you had just looked once or twice
And gone upon your quiet way

Today I said the time was right for me to follow you
I knew I’d find you in a day or two
And it’s true

So it doesn’t drive any of you crazy (or perhaps so it can), here it is:

~ by Alden on April 6, 2008.

4 Responses to “On being driven crazy by a song…”

  1. Here’s my nomination for the song that just wouldn’t go away:

  2. Unforgettable. Torturous, but unforgettable.

  3. Aging acts account for most of the music industry’s live performance revenue. What happens when these acts are gone? The American takes a look at “heritage acts” that kroc would be proud of.

  4. […] played was Five O’Clock World by the Vogues.  It’s gotten kind of stuck in my brain, as some songs do.  So, for your listening (and viewing) enjoyment, ladies and gentlemen, The […]

Leave a Reply

 
